Water Kefir Grains and Autism Gut Recovery

I got my package of Water Kefir Grains that I ordered from Cultures for Health.com yesterday. The box is so pretty I don’t want to open it.  I watched the instructional video on the companies website so I am ready to start making it.

According to the website http://www.culturesforhealth.com the following is known about kefir water grains:

Originating in Mexico, water kefir grains allow for the fermentation of sugar water or juice to create a carbonated lacto-fermented beverage. Incredibly easy to brew, the starter culture can create a new batch of kefir every 24-48 hours. This makes a fantastic non-dairy alternative to milk kefir and can be flavored after brewing to make a variety of delicious sodas. If you are looking to replace soda pop, your family will love it!


Here is the video from Julie at http://www.CulturesforHealth.com

http://www.culturesforhealth.com/water-kefir

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cheri on March 18, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Hi I had noticed on your blog that you had ordered some cultures for health water kefir grains. I had ordered some as well but after following the directions and several attempts to get them going and thriving ..nothing is happening. Sooo I have some new grains which appereared to do well until my third batch alot of foam as usual fermented nicely but it has a green residue on top of the foam. Do you know much about water kefir?? Is this normal?
    Thanks
    Cheri
    ps great Blog One really is what they eat!

    Reply

    • Posted by janecasey on March 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      Hi Cheri,
      I am about to order new water kefir grains as well. I left my ferment on the counter for 10 days my containers of Kombucha were in front of the jar so I just chucked the water kefir. I have fermented a lot of foods but water kefir grains are new for me as well. If you want more in depth answers go to http://www.culturesforhealth.com and email them.

      Let me know how your batch is going!
      Jane

      Reply

Leave a Reply

